International Citizen of the Year

Since 1985, The International Center has honored individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Indiana and the world in the fields of business, culture, education, government, medicine, media, research, sports or community service with the International Citizen of the Year award.

For more information, contact Kristie Johnson, vice president of development and external affairs.


Doug Boles, President of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, accepts the 2023 International Citizen of the Year Award, pictured with President and CEO Martin Baier.

The International Center presented the International Citizen of the Year Award to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on October 3, 2023.

Home of the Indianapolis 500, the most-attended single-day sporting event in the world, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway is an internationally-known hub for multiple racing events.


The International Center presented the 2022 award to Tamika Catchings on Tuesday, October 18.

Tamika Catchings (right) stands with Rick Fuson (left), president of the Indiana Pacers and presenter of the 2022 award.

Catchings, best known for her fifteen seasons as the WBNA Indiana Fever’s franchise player, is a four-time Olympic gold medalist, local business owner and philanthropist.

Previous International Citizen of the Year Award Honorees

2021 Senator Daniel R. Coats
2019 Michael Crowther
2018 Governor Eric Holcomb
2017 Pacers Sports & Entertainment
2016 Michael A. McRobbie
2015 Dr. John C. Lechleiter
2014 Mayor Greg Ballard and Mrs. Winnie Ballard
2013 Mark Miles
2011 Tim Solso
2010 Gov. Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr.
2008 IU-Kenya Partnership
2007 Dr. Martin C. Jischke
2006 Ambassador Randall L. Tobias
2005 James T. Morris
2004 Christel DeHaan
2003 30th Anniversary Award: The Honorable Richard G. Lugar
2002 Rev. Fr. Boniface Hardin, O.S.B.
2001 Sidney Taurel
2000 Tony George
1999 Jeff Smulyan
1998 Bret Waller
1997 Lawrence H. Einhorn, M.D.
1996 Kai and Tom Binford
1995 KP Singh
1993 Margaret Sheridan
1993 Dr. Geoffrey Bannister
1991 Maestro Raymond Leppard
1990 The Honorable Lee H. Hamilton
1990 Sr. Marie Pierre Buttell
1989 The Honorable William H. Hudnut
1989 George Mikelsons
1987 The Honorable Robert D. Orr
1986 The Honorable Richard G. Lugar
1985 Riad Shaheen

Translate »